PDA

View Full Version : Hand Holding the Technika 4x5?

ljsegil
9-Jun-2008, 09:59
I have a Master Technika 4x5 which had the rangefinder removed by the original owner. I am thinking of having it put back on and getting cams made for a few lens (currently favoring 110/5.6 SSXL, 150/4.5 Apo Lanthar, and perhaps a 210/4.5 Heliar; I think they might provide a nice mix of a classic to a modern look with reasonably fast lenses to help compensate for my own unsteady hands). The cost is not insubstantial. Therefore, I am wondering if people with similar setups (Technikas, Graphics,etc) do much hand held shooting and are they happy with their results, or should I not go to the expense and stick to a tripod and ground glass? Is it really possible to do candid type portraiture with such a setup, or to be able to travel more lightly for outdoor scenics? Are there other advantages to the availability of the rangefinder?
Any and all information/input/advice/scorn/whatever will be most appreciated (and please forgive my posting essentially the same question in some of the other photo forums in search of more opinions).
Thanks,
Larry

David A. Goldfarb
9-Jun-2008, 10:11
Go for it. I do a fair amount of handheld shooting with my 4x5" Tech V and 2x3" Tech V 23b and have cammed lenses for both. Try a search on "handheld" and "hand held" and you should turn up a few older threads on this topic.

One of the attractions of the Technika for me, particularly for travel, is that I can alternate between shooting press camera style or view camera style, and everything from the trip will be in the same format with the same lenses and have a greater consistency of form than if I used two cameras.

The rangefinder is also useful with a tripod mounted camera for moving subjects, portraits, and such, when you want to be able to check focus with a filmholder ready to shoot.

Frank Petronio
9-Jun-2008, 10:13