PDA

View Full Version : Help the Architect

NateArchitect
7-Jun-2008, 18:27
Alright guys, whats up. My name is Nate (as you can see) and im a 2nd year Architect in college.

My assignment has been to develop a 1000 sq. ft house that would suit a photographer. I understand there is a dark room and a matt room (not sure what this is) but i do not know the required equipment needed. Are there any other rooms you guys would like to have? Maybe a room for shooting film out of? This only has to be for basic photography. We are just now learning how to design houses. Any input of required equipment or examples of your layouts would be GREATLY appericiated.

BarryS
7-Jun-2008, 19:02
Well, you can add a studio with at least an 18 ft ceiling--with some nice big north-facing windows. A room for matting, mounting, framing, and storing prints is your "matt" room.

lenser
7-Jun-2008, 20:16
Hi, Nate.

Try to find a copy of the the book "Set Up Your Home Studio", part of the Kodak Library of Creative Photography. May be your local library will have it, or someone in the local camera club, or maybe even a local pro. Guess what, the entire series is bound in Kodak yellow.

The whole book is devoted to your assignment including photos and schematics as well as tons of good advice and copy regarding how to have spaces for multiple usage.

Good Luck.

Tim

David A. Goldfarb
7-Jun-2008, 20:30
1000 square feet for living space and photo space isn't huge. You could combine the matting/mounting space with a studio of about 12x15 feet and put the darkroom off the studio. The print finishing area should be in the back of the studio area adjacent to the darkroom ideally, because less space is needed for the camera (at the back of the studio) than for the background and set (at the front of the studio).