PDA

View Full Version : Perspective, viewable?

Darryl Roberts
7-Jun-2008, 12:54
Hi,

I'm a newbie. I know a great advantage of the LF camera is to alter perspective. Should I be able to see this on the ground-glass, or is it only seen on the prints?

Thank you.

Harry v. Loon
7-Jun-2008, 13:08
The negative replaces the ground glass.
So what you see is what you get.

Harry

Darryl Roberts
7-Jun-2008, 13:12
I really appreciate the answer, again, thank you.

Brian Ellis
7-Jun-2008, 13:13
A view camera will allow you to do quite a few things but altering perspective isn't one of them. The only way to alter perspective is to move the camera.

Darryl Roberts
7-Jun-2008, 13:17
"The best rule of thumb is to use the swings and tilts on the film plane to alter perspective...." Steve Simmons in Using The View Camera.

Brian, have I misunderstood your point?

Richard K.
7-Jun-2008, 13:59
And, at the risk of putting my foot in it (again), you can't change perspective by simply changing lenses to a different focal length. Perspective would be the same for a 90mm as for a 210 mm lens (different framing and image size of course) if you don't change position. I think that SS meant that tilting or swinging the back will change the shape (goemetry) of the objects but not their relative positionings (perspective). Front swings and tilts will not affect geometry just the plane of focus. Brian is right, to change perspective you needs to move!

domenico Foschi
7-Jun-2008, 14:06
But you do change position when you move the standards of the camera.
So at the end, yes, you do change perspective.

Darryl Roberts
7-Jun-2008, 14:10
For clarity, btw I would try this now but it's too hot outside. I will be able to make a building, that with my 35mm looks slanted and the sides look as if they'll merge, straight (looking that is)?

domenico Foschi
7-Jun-2008, 14:12
And to answer to Darryl, yes you can see the changes.