PDA

View Full Version : Newbie - How can I use my Cokin-style filters in LF?

gevalia
4-Jun-2008, 10:14
Guys,

I'm new to LF - just to set the level. I have a pretty good investment in Singh Ray filters that I use on digital and MF which are all work in the Cokin "P" style holder. I now have 4x5 LF setup and would like to use those filters when possible of course. I have 1 lens (xenar 150mm) which has a 40.5mm thread and I am wondering if anyone else is using Cokin "P" with LF where they have solved this issue?

They do not seem to have a ring adapter for my needs with this lens. And I have 2 more lenses on the way and I suspect I will have similar issues with those.

I do see that Cokin has something called a Universal Adapter but the info is not clear enough for me to plunk down $$. Cokin doesn't return emails and everyone else I have asked just reads what is on the package.

I know I can get different filters, that's not my question.

Anyone?

anchored
4-Jun-2008, 10:51
You don't need to replace the filters... but you may need to replace the filter holders. I use Singh-Ray and Lee filters with the Lee filter holders on all my cameras (35mm, MF, and LF 4x5). Simply screw in an adapter ring to the lens and attach the holder to it. I also keep the adapter ring mounted permanently to all my lenses (gets expensive that way but saves messing around with it in the field), and use the Lee lens covers designed to fit over the adapter rings.

So far all my lenses but two have been fitted this way... only a Mamiya 75mm Tilt/Shift and a Grandagon-N 75mm are not fitted this way (no adapters to properly fit without vignetting). For these two lenses a filter is simply handheld over the elements for use.

gevalia
4-Jun-2008, 11:44
Thanks. I'll look into the Lee holders!

lenser
4-Jun-2008, 11:58
Hi, Gevalia.