PDA

View Full Version : Kodak Ektar in Syncro Compur shutter

Mike Dougan
4-Jun-2008, 06:14
Probably a fairly basic question but I'm new to large format photography.

I recently acquired a Crow Graphic with a dodgy shutter I plan to have the Syncro Compur repaired the next time I visit the UK of Singapore (not many people in Manila I'd trust) but in the mean time I plan to buy another lens for this camera so my question is what size of Copal shutter would be a direct replacement for the Syncro Compur with the 127mm f4.7 Kodak Ektar?

mrladewig
4-Jun-2008, 06:35
I would guess it to be a Copal 0, but I don't know which Compur the Kodak is in for certain. A photo of the existing shutter would be most helpful.

A modern Compur or Copal #0 would have a mounting flange diameter of roughly 1 3/8". A modern Compur or Copal #1 would have a mounting flange of about 1 5/8. The lens spacing and threading should match between these. If its one of these, you should be able to go from Compur to Copal of the same size with no issue. SK Grimes has some of the other dimensions for shutters if you need them.

I wouldn't think that lens could fit in a Compur 00 (flange dia = 1"), but there is no Copal replacement for this shutter size.

Mike Dougan
4-Jun-2008, 06:59
Without pulling the lens out of the lens board (I haven't the tools and there is already some marks from previous attempts) I'd say the opening was just under 1 and a half inches.

I would post a picture but I went digital free a few years ago....... :) :)

In the morning (Its 10 PM in Manila) I'll grab a friends digital camera and post a pic or two.

Dan Fromm
4-Jun-2008, 07:23
Mike, www.skgrimes.com (look in products, new shutters) has a table giving sizes for #0 and #1 shutters. Unscrew your lens' front cell, measure, and you'll know which it is.

BradS
4-Jun-2008, 10:48