PDA

View Full Version : Developing in Afghanistan

ray.duke
2-Jun-2008, 11:13
Howdy, I'm a contractor in Afghanistan. I plan to be here for another 2 years and have decided to move into LF Photography for the challenge and something to pass the next 2 years. I live in a tent and work in a tent, dust is everywhere, sometimes it's burning hot and sometimes it's cold as heck. I'll be using a new Tachihara, 150mm lens, Fuji Velvia 100 ISO. Building a darkroom, for now anyways, is not possible. I know I won't get the greatest results with my limited capabilities, but I'm hoping someone here can clue me in on a process for developing my slides. I don't need to actually have any prints, I just need to be able to get them to a point that I can put my slide in a protective case and file it away until I get back to the US for my vacations. I already have a "changing tent" on order for my darkroom and I assume I need to get a drum and some chemicals. Remember, I'm a beginner. The one advantage I have is that my experience working on aircraft has given me a rather adept ability to work with delicate and tiny parts in weird places simply by feeling what I'm doing. Thanks in advance for any advice you can give, and hopefully I don't come home with 50 sheets of 4x5 with nothing but splotches and blurs and streaks. Oh, I can be emailed at ray_duke_ii@hotmail.com

BarryS
2-Jun-2008, 11:29
Ray, have you considered shooting Fuji Quickloads and just sending the film back to a friend in the US for temp-controlled storage until you can return and develop or have them developed?

David A. Goldfarb
2-Jun-2008, 11:40