PDA

View Full Version : Color film & outside temps - newbie question

gevalia
2-Jun-2008, 09:24
Guys,

I'm a newbie to film and have been spending the time to understand my LF equipment. I'm currently using only B&W but I want to start up at the end of the summer with color.

I have a question on color film and how I need to store it before use and after use. Please assume I'm talking about Velvia or Portra or Provia here (if that makes a difference) and that the film is not expired and that I bought it from a place where it was properly fridged.

My thought is I buy the boxes I need and put them in the fridge - which I do not do for B&W. But if I go on a 2 week vacation and take the color film, how do I need to care for it while on vacation? If I drive to Bryce on October where getting there could be 90 degrees for a few days, will that damage the film? If I put them in a fridge every night and took them out every morning is that okay or does condensation occur? Would they be okay unfrigerated for 2 weeks straight with temps from 30-90F?

Thanks,
Ron

lenser
2-Jun-2008, 10:17
Hi, Ron.

Condensation is definitely a problem in muggy Missouri where I live, but in the desert it may not be so. My habit here is to always put film boxes (open or not) in the fridge or freezer in zip lock bags and not open those until the film has been out of the fridge for several hours and at or near room temperature.

When I traveled in the west in mid summer a few years ago, I kept all film in an empty cooler with a moist towel over the outside of the cooler. That works as a primitive evaporative air conditioning system. I was always surprised at how cool the film boxes were even when ambient temps in the car sitting in the sun were well over 100 degrees. Just keep the towel slightly moist.

Chances are you would be alright without any protection other than not leaving film boxes in direct sun or a closed car in the heat of the day, but this system should make it a slam dunk.