PDA

View Full Version : weston master 111 (3)

robert fallis
26-May-2008, 06:19
I'm thinking of buying a weston master 111 does anyone know what ASA settings are available on it, as I wish to use it with paper negs

bob

Justin Cormack
26-May-2008, 07:00
My Master V goes from 0.1 to 16000 ASA! - suspect the 3 is similar.

IanG
26-May-2008, 07:31
The III is quite different to the Master. It uses Weston film settings for film speed. I have Sngamo Weston's 1961 Advert open beside me, as I write. It goes to 5,000 Weston (New) whichis the same as ASA/BS arith, the II uses a different Westo system.

Beware also the cells don't often read fully after this length of time, that goes for later models like the IV's and V's as well.

Ian

BrianShaw
26-May-2008, 07:48
I'm no expert in Weston meters, but I thought the Master II was the last to show Weston numbers. I've used a couple of Weston IIIs, though for the past 25 years.

My Master III (in front of me now) has Exposure Index (ASA) from .1 to 3.2M

EDIT: There may be a difference between the black and chrome-colored Weston IIIs. The black one was British-built and the silver was US-built. Notice that the black one is clearly marked "Weston Rating" but the silver one is not:

http://diaxa.nfshost.com/weston/westonthree.htm

EDIT: My Master IIIs are all silver colored.

robert fallis
26-May-2008, 08:10
thanks everybody that's what I needed to know have put a bid on the thing

bob

IanG
26-May-2008, 08:44
Brian, the photograph in the Sangamo Weston III advert is clearly marked as Weston speeds, as is the wording in the advert, but of course as the speeds are BS/ASA they may well have changed the markings on the scale.

Ian

Chauncey Walden
26-May-2008, 09:49