PDA

View Full Version : Satz-Dagor

E. von Hoegh
25-May-2008, 19:05
So my 9 1/2" Dagor, in a very early Compound with the composition iris blades suffered a catastrophic failure of said blades. I decided for now to mount the cells in a shutter that once held one of those Wollensak oscilloscope lenses. (It seemed the least labor intensive way to get shooting)

While I was making the adaptor rings, The Lightbulb went on! I once had a 10 3/4" Dagor, traded it off, and have regretted it ever since. So why not machine an extra ring that will adapt the rear cell of the 9 1/2" to the rear of my 30cm Berlin Dagor? That will give me about 10 3/4".

Schneider did essentially the same with the the post WWII triple convertible Symmars, and I read here that Jim Galli has a similar marriage in a Dagor - type G Claron.

So, I'm a better machinist than optician. Am I missing something here? Any thoughts?

Mark Woods
25-May-2008, 21:24
Yes. The lens is the focal length it is no matter what shims you use (or adapter rings). Infinity focus is infinity focus no matter what lens you have. And that is what determines the focal length of the lens at hand.

E. von Hoegh
25-May-2008, 21:30
Yes. The lens is the focal length it is no matter what shims you use (or adapter rings). Infinity focus is infinity focus no matter what lens you have. And that is what determines the focal length of the lens at hand.

Please read my post, above.

Ole Tjugen
25-May-2008, 22:53
No, you're not missing anything.

If you manage to maintain the correct spacing (the distance from the cell to the aperture is probably the best thing to aim for), it should work.

BUT: Do you know the focal lengths of each cell of both lenses? Taking lenses are very rarely completely symmetrical, despite their names. Maybe you won't end up with a 10 3/4" combo, but more like a 10"?

I'm sure you will find out. :)

David A. Goldfarb
26-May-2008, 02:03