PDA

View Full Version : starter darkroom

scott russell
14-May-2008, 13:12
Hi, I want to start shooting and developing my own ilford b&w film but im not sure where to start. my only experience is with 35mm/120 film using Spring chemicals in high school which i happened to be pretty happy with.

I plan on buying a combi plan tank as i don't have an actually dark room to work in. My girlfriend used to run a darkroom and she recommends the D76 powder which seems to be pretty economical. Does anyone have a favorite set up they use to develop their film?

theres also this efke infrared film thats on the market that i want to shoot (which is actually more motivating to get darkroom supplies and start developing!) i got great results using the kodak infrared film in 35mm but i don't have any experience with this and would like to pick a chemical set up that could easily deal with the ilford and efke films.

Ash
14-May-2008, 13:17
Scott, I've no experience with powder devs, I'd recommend a big 5L bottle of Suprol (essentially universal developer - paper and film). I've got perfectly fine results from it and over here 5L is the cost of 500ml of Rodinal.

Since I'm like you, I have a changing bag and load/unload the film with that, I hate combi-plan tanks but they are a lot faster to develop high-volumes (more than one sheet at a time, which I do with a Paterson Orbital).

Nick_3536
14-May-2008, 22:39
Favorite?

Jobo 2551 tank.
2509N reel [or two]
Unicolor motorbase I think it's a 351
Gralab 300 timer.

A newspaper to read while things spin. -)

I'm guessing 4x5.

Chemicals.

I mix up D-23 1:3. It's easy and quick to make up. Not the cheapest but you won't waste any so in the end it's similar.

TF-2 fixer. Which is cheap and easy to make up.

John Kasaian
15-May-2008, 07:39