PDA

View Full Version : Oh ***t !!!

Noeyedear
8-May-2008, 09:39
I've been trying to get a 5x7 set up together with many raids into ebay, today I thought the last piece of the jigsaw was in place when the darkslides turned up. Problem is they don't fit, 5mm to wide, the film area is near enough the same, but no way are these going in.
Any idea what to do?
The camera is a Plaubel Universal III, the holders are Lisco Regal 5x7.

Kevin.

Scott Kathe
8-May-2008, 09:51
Look at the very bottom of this thread :(

http://www.apug.org/forums/archive/index.php/t-19414.html

I build a Bender 4x5 but I have no experience modifying backs but it should be possible.

Noeyedear
8-May-2008, 10:02
Thanks Scott, looks like bad news for me.
To think I nearly bought a Sinar F 5x7 on ebay which went quite cheaply a couple of days ago, but thought na I'm set with the Plaubel.
Now how do I get it adapted.... anyone?

Thanks,

Kevin.

John Kasaian
8-May-2008, 10:12
Why not just sell either the camera or the holders and get something that jiives?

Noeyedear
8-May-2008, 10:50
Yup that's one thing I'm considering, but it would be nice to get the Plaubel working. It's a lovely well made camera, the 5x4 back that's with it takes normal holders. The kit is in a bespoke alu case including bellows lens shade and period Polaroid back. The movements are rock solid and easy to adjust. So I'm not going to give up on the old girl straight away.

Kevin.

walter23
8-May-2008, 12:04
Can't shave some wood off by hand?

Noeyedear
8-May-2008, 12:18
It's metal.
Regards,
Kevin

Scott Kathe
8-May-2008, 12:58
I don't know what the back even looks like but I think a local machinist should be able to remove the metal so that a normal film holder would fit. You could try contacting SK Grimes http://www.skgrimes.com/ but it will probably be pretty expensive. Best of luck.

Scott

John Schneider
8-May-2008, 13:30