PDA

View Full Version : wisner questions:

BigSteveG
1-May-2008, 19:49
Can anyone tell me about the "Pocket Expedition" 5x7? I'm wondering if the back is reversible. If not, does it have 2 tripod mounts? Any help is greatly appreciated.

QCC
1-May-2008, 19:58
Yes it has a reversible back.

BigSteveG
1-May-2008, 20:43
Cool. The reason I ask is that seems other cameras do not.

wfwhitaker
2-May-2008, 06:45
Cool. The reason I ask is that seems other cameras do not.

??

Most 5x7 cameras have a reversible back.

BigSteveG
2-May-2008, 18:14
Ok Whitaker. I'm still new to LF. I've seen some cameras listed (they were 4x5 w/ non reversible backs. Also, I think the current Chamonix may have a non-reversible? I may be confused.

wfwhitaker
2-May-2008, 18:32
Hey, that's OK. And by the way, you can just call me Will. I don't know what other information you've received, so I'm just going on what you say. I can't speak for the Chamonix, but the majority of 5x7 cameras you're going to run into on the market do have a reversible back. And there are a lot of 5x7 cameras. I've not used a 5x7 Pocket Expedition (Geary Lyons had one for sale - don't know if he sold it or not yet), but I did have the 4x5 version for a while. It's a very nice camera. Despite all the brouhaha surrounding Wisner's business practices he really did make a fine product.

Since you're new to LF, there's a learning curve as you've no doubt found. I hope you'll ask your questions unhesitatingly. And PM's are always welcome. I don't claim to know a lot, but what I do know is public domain.

BigSteveG
2-May-2008, 22:30