PDA

View Full Version : Arca-Swiss Field 4x5 vs. Canham DLC

Blumine
27-Apr-2008, 19:23
I have been using a Canham DLC 4x5 for the last several years and have been generally happy with it. It has worked well for all my lenses from 47mm up to a 600mm Telephoto. My only real complaints are its lack of detents, sometimes when using long lenses its not the most stable of cameras, though mostly it has been a good camera.

The tax man smiled on me this year and it has made me think about a new camera. While I like my DLC, I have always wanted a Arca Swiss 4x5 Field camera. I handled one at a workshop a year of so ago and have been wanting on ever since.

Sadly I can't keep both, (the wife would remove various body parts). So before I sell my Canham and plunk down all that cash new camera. I was wondering if anybody had any experience with both or either cameras and any other opinions about them.

Appreciate the help.

Blumine

Walter Calahan
27-Apr-2008, 19:53
I love my Arca-Swiss 4x5 as much as my KB Canham 8x10.

Not used the DLC, so can't compare.

My Arca handles my Nikkor 500 mm just fine, and my 58 mm as well (I recommend a recessed lens board for the 47 mm).

Sheldon N
27-Apr-2008, 20:12
Haven't really handled the DLC much - only briefly. I will say that the Arca 4x5 field is about as good as it gets, though.

One of the main differences to me is the user interface, all the controls on the Arca are just "right there" and intuitive. Rigidity is definitely better on the Arca too.

The Arca you really want is this.... Arca Swiss 4x5 Field 110-141 with leather bellows, 30cm telescoping rail and micrometric orbix. Not cheap, but worth it!

Scott Rosenberg
27-Apr-2008, 21:19
the cameras are very different animals... they handle and perform differently, but then that's to be expected, as the are designed for different purposes.