PDA

View Full Version : mail order 4x5 processing

Cedric P. Thevenaz
14-Mar-2001, 13:31
I am an amateur 35mm photographer with aspirations to make large, super sharp, b rilliant enlargements. After much learning and consideration, much of it from g reat websites like this one, I have concluded that 4x5 is my medium of choice. However, one issue keeps me from proceeding. And I haven't seen any discussion of this topic yet.

I live in a small city about 2 hours from any large city (Seattle)with a profess ional lab. We do have a local lab which does up to medium format only (which wo uld almost make me inclined to do medium format - much less excited about this o ption though). My question is can 4x5 be conveniently handled by mail. That is to say, are there labs that receive mailed in 4x5 transparancies for developmen t and ship back, as well as those which can handle enlargements by mail as well. Does anyone have any experience with doing this all by mail? I truly want to go with 4x5, but this may be a serious consideration for me.

Thanks in advance for any comments......

Charlie Stracl
14-Mar-2001, 13:46
Any of the commercial labs in Seattle should handle 4x5 color work by mail. Look in the Seattle yellow pages for photographic processing. Call and ask about sheet film work. There is a lot of advertising agency work done in Seattle, so finding a lab ought to be easy. Ad agencies often use sheet film.

In a way, 4x5 is easier to handle than 120 or 35mm through the mail, since the boxes are flat and extremely rugged.

M.
14-Mar-2001, 15:02
Don't forget, Ansel Adams and Brett Weston both fnally switched to Medium Format and their prints looked just as good as when they shot 8x10.

Bruce Schultz
14-Mar-2001, 15:16