PDA

View Full Version : Imacon Precision III vs. Microtek F1 - operator does matter!

Michal Makowski
20-Apr-2008, 13:11
I wonder if results from Microtek F1/M1 operated by an experienced operator will be better than from Imacon Precison III operated by newbie! I’m asking because my local lab is using IPIII, and as far I know they are scanning in 8 bit, no matter what they are scanning and no matter what you want to get and the operator is not very skilful.
If I get similar results from Microtek I will buy one and I will start mastering scanning technique at home with a cup of tea ;)
Regards
Michal

Michal Makowski
22-Apr-2008, 05:01
Any comments?

Brian Ellis
22-Apr-2008, 07:13
I have no experience with either of these scanners. But as a general proposition, I'd take a talented person with mediocre equipment over a mediocre person with great equipment every time.

Robert Budding
22-Apr-2008, 14:03
I'd prefer the talented person with the great equipment.

It seems that the OP is trying to determine how many ways a newbie can mess up.

mrladewig
22-Apr-2008, 14:20
If I get similar results from Microtek I will buy one and I will start mastering scanning technique at home with a cup of tea ;)
Regards
Michal

Just don't try to scan the cup of tea. It might not work out well.

I don't know about the Imacon vs Microtek specifically, but it might be handy for you to operate your own scanner and have the option to send out for better scans when needed. It wouldn't take too many scans to break even on the cost of an M1/F1.

Stephen Best
22-Apr-2008, 16:05
While I agree with your general proposition, the results I've seen posted here from the Microtek look pretty awful. There's not a lot to screw up with Flextight scans if you get your settings right. That said, I'd make sure the Precision III owner had paid for the auto focus option or look for someone with an 848/949/X5. The latter is a better class of scanner as well.

Michal Makowski
23-Apr-2008, 02:37