PDA

View Full Version : Economics of newer used vs. older used ...

jeffoto
19-Apr-2008, 23:15
As a complete newby, I have begun the search for lenses and have seen a vast array of prices on ebay. I am still awaiting the arrival of Jack Dykinga and Steve Simmons' books, so, I've been scouring info and looking at prices.

Deals can be had, or so it seems, on cosmetically challenged lenses. Cosmetics don't bother me as much as mechanics. What I don't know about, are the shutters. Many ads say things like "times seem good, B and T don't work, selling as is"

OK, as is, that's fine. A CLA would probably take care of many things. What I am wondering though, is the cost of a CLA on a lens/shutter (including shipping, etc ...) versus spending more to start on "newer" used. If a CLA is $50, it may make sense. If it is over $100 it may not.

What is the real world experience of you all in these situations?

Thanks so much,

Jeff

Gordon Moat
19-Apr-2008, 23:29
A couple of ways to approach this. If you consider the cost of a lens to include clean and adjust, then you end up with a lens that should stay within adjusted shutter speeds for a while. This might be more certain than a slightly newer lens, of which you may not know whether it was lightly used or heavily used. Another way to approach this is to consider that newer Copal shutters are quite reliable and plentiful, so why not just get one and use it as is arrives.

Quite likely lens optics might have a bit of haze or build-up on them. There are lens cleaning compounds out there at work well, and large format lenses are somewhat easy to remove from a shutter to clean the more accessible surfaces. However, if you are not comfortable with this, then paying a knowledge person/company to do this might be a better choice.

You can probably expect nearly any used lens to need cleaning. How much, and whether professional cleaning might be better, would be a judgement call.