PDA

View Full Version : Chamonix 8x10 Video

mccormickstudio
15-Apr-2008, 00:45
video here
(http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OOjJTnuZUdY)
Hello all - I am a newbie and incredibly grateful for all of the information I have gleaned from this forum. Recently I have been in the market for a lightweight 8x10, and with little information and much faith, I decided upon a Chamonix 8x10. I watched fleabay for 6 months, tried extensively to find a new or used Phillips, considered many of the cameras recommended by users here -- but, ultimately decided on the Chamonix. In Indianapolis, I have no place but Jack's in Muncie to view and handle the occasional stray LF, unless I make it to a show. So I was very frustrated in my search with my inability to judge the movements and nuances of the cameras I was considering.

I have also read the entire diatribe regarding Chamonix on this fine forum. I understand the economics, the patriotism, the serviceability, the lack of a trustworthy interface, and the genreral tension between skepticism and enthusiasm for the Chamonix Cameras. I bought one regardless, and I must say that it is one of the most beautiful cameras that I have ever tinkered with, and certainly owned. I'm not an expert in LF, especially 8x10, but my lovely wife will certainly confirm that I own way too many cameras.

So I made a small movie of the Chamonix 8x10, essentially to answer the questions that I had before purchasing. I wanted to know about the functionality and movements of the camera, the ease of use, and the features. The movie is here on YouTube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OOjJTnuZUdY). I shot this in HD DV and if anyone wants a better mp4 or full hd, please PM me your ftp info or address and I can burn a dvd for a few bucks to cover dvd and shipping.