View Full Version : Buddhist PM Spam

Tom Westbrook
14-Apr-2008, 03:50
Yesterday, we caught someone (member name = "Patricia") sending PM spam containing a Buddhist quote and a web link to a large number of members. We deleted all the PM's and banned the person, but if you got an email notification that you got a PM that doesn't exist anymore, this is the reason.

We have seen similar activity in the past and they are usually extremely vague greetings accompanied by web links or email addresses. If you see these sorts of non-specific PMs from new members, please contact the Mods via the Contact Us link at the bottom of all pages. Include the text of the PM and the senders member name. Please do not click on the web links included in these spams since its possible they often point to malicious web sites that can infect your computer with various types of malware.

To help prevent this sort of thing in the future, we've blocked access for new members (less than 5 legit posts or have been members for less than 30 days) to the Member list.

David A. Goldfarb
14-Apr-2008, 04:07
Sounds like the same spam that some of us got over on hybridphoto.com not too long ago.

Alan Curtis
14-Apr-2008, 05:14
Thank you for your quick action. I received that notification of a private message. Also thank you for letting us know what had happened.

14-Apr-2008, 11:15
Something similar happened on nelsonfoto.com a few months ago.

14-Apr-2008, 12:54
Thanks, I'll be one watch for this one as well.

15-Apr-2008, 13:10
Yes, THANKS for looking out for members' interests in this way. I got a notification, too, and was just wondering where the message went. Good on ya, Tom!