PDA

View Full Version : 10x8 lenses...240mm or similar

Former Member 8144
12-Apr-2008, 08:24
Hi all,

I am embarking on a long term project that is to be shot on 10x8.
I'm new to 10x8 having always previousley shot 5x4 and have started a thread on the camera section regarding, well, cameras.

As for lenses I'm looking to get a bit of advice also.

I will be using rise, fall and shift so I need lenses with enough movements for that but this is not for architectural work so the movements will not be huge.
(Shots will be of various objects and structures within the surrounding landscape, some more traditional landscapes and some larger structures, but mostly low level.)

I may very well go with a one lens set up as it suits the project that all the images have a similar feel in terms of field of view and so wanting something fairly naturalistic as opposed to too wide a perspective I will probably be looking around the 240mm mark.

The style of the images do not require the most modern sharp look at all and so whist not looking for an old look in particular I presume I will be fine with one of the older designed lenses?

Someone has mentioned the schneider claron G and I see for these there are both older and newer versions...any big differences and any others i should be looking at such as the fujinon F9A, etc, etc?

Thanks,

Marc

Capocheny
12-Apr-2008, 09:33
Hi Marc,

I own a 240 Symmar, 240 Nikkor, 240 G-Claron, and now, a 240 Germinar... I don't think you'll find a world of a difference between them for your purposes. They're all made by very reputable companies.

So, find one that suits your budget and go for it. :)

The 240 Fujinon A is also reputed to be a great lens but I've not owned one before.

As for much OLDER lenses... can't speak to them but I'm sure somebody here will...

Btw, the 240 is one of my favorite lenses on 8x10... if I could carry only one lens, it would definitely be a 240! :)

Good luck on the project.

Cheers

Ron Marshall