PDA

View Full Version : suggestions for a newbie ...

jeffoto
10-Apr-2008, 21:47
I'm looking seriously at 4x5. I recently moved up to 6x6 from 35mm and digital, but believe 4x5 is more suited to what I'm looking at (landscape). I'm a professional newspaper photographer (for 25 years) and am looking for an escape from the news business by stepping back, and enjoying the craft of photography again.

I looked at the front page of this site and got some basic info, but it is rather dated, so want to get current ideas (prices, etc ...) on cameras. (I haven't even started thinking lenses.)

Anyway, I'm wanting a basic setup to get started with and am looking for suggestions. Inexpensive (seems like Cambo/Calumet are relatively inexpensive) but Toyo/Omega's aren't much different. Anything specific I should look for, stay away from?

Sorry for the total newb questions.

John Kasaian
10-Apr-2008, 22:00
In used equiptment I'd suggest a 4x5 monorail like the Calumet 400 series (an excellent place to start) as well as the Graphic View 2. The Crown Graphics are fun but have some limitations (OTOH they are hand holdable :) ) One of my favorite flat bed woodies is the Agfa Ansco Universal which will accept both 4x5 and 5x7 backs. For a classic clamshell style field camera you might find a used Tachihara within your price range.

But do yourself a big favor first---get a copy of Steve Simmons "Using The View Camera" before spending any money on gear. Really.:)

Nick_3536
10-Apr-2008, 22:05
Dated? Some here are using 100 year old cameras -) Prices may have changed but the other info doesn't change very quickly.

Do you want a field camera or a monorail?

From the cameras you list it sounds like you are looking at monorails?

For one moment think lenses. Not so much actual lenses but focal lengths. Some cameras are better at extremes [wide or long] then others.