PDA

View Full Version : Is there any difference between 4x5

BigSteveG
9-Apr-2008, 10:30
and 2 1/4 image quality in prints smaller than 11x14?

Mark Woods
9-Apr-2008, 10:40
I've made some beautiful prints with the 2 1/4 square negs. But the larger the neg the more impressive the detail in the print. Last Saturday I made a 11x14 print from an 8x10 neg and there was no grain and incredible detail. As someone said, Big Negs Rock! ;-)

David A. Goldfarb
9-Apr-2008, 10:50
Yes. MF can make very impressive prints and sometimes might appear in isolation to be as good as 4x5" or even larger, but if you made two negatives of the same scene as close as you could to each other with the most important variable being format size, and printed them to the same size, you would see a difference.

lenser
9-Apr-2008, 10:54
Steve,

As a former portrait photographer, I've had many super large (24x30/30x40) prints made from Hasse and RB67 negatives. As long as I focused well, they were wonderful.

Having said that, there is no question that a larger neg produces finer detail in the same size enlargements. This is established and without question.

In the sizes you're talking about, you likely won't see much difference, especially with finer grained films. By the time you get to a 16x20, you will almost certainly start to see divergences in detail and grain since you are enlarging basically twice more for the smaller neg to get to the same image size.

Tim

Vaughn
9-Apr-2008, 10:58
Definitely yes.

More room to record information means smoother changes in tonality on the neg and in the print.

Vaughn

Neal Shields
9-Apr-2008, 11:00
The best explaination that I have seen of this is in "Post Exposure" by Ctien.

He goes into why the eye can precieve differences in line detail beyond the theroetical limits of the retina. He also goes into the different between acceptable sharpness and perfect sharpness.

He defines acceptable sharpness as what appears complete sharp when view alone.