PDA

View Full Version : Ilfochromes at home

Brad Daniels
10-Sep-1998, 13:44
I didn't see anything here about this, and I was kinda surprised, so maybe I mis sed it somewhere. Apparently a lot of you shoot slide film for color to the po int of not using color negative film at all. I just started shooting slide film , and I gotta admit, it looks great on the light table, especially the bigger fo rmats (I'm currently only shooting 645, though I want to get into 4x5 ASAP, but I've seen a friend's 4x5 'chromes, and they're stunning). Anyway, what I'm curi ous about, is do any of you do your own Ilfochrome printing, and what are your o pinions if you do? Is it a huge pain? How about temperature control; is it rea lly picky? Results? I currently do color neg. printing at home, tho it's enoug h of a pain that I've been farming it out to a local lab whenever I feel a need for proof prints (This is at the request of the model/client, since contacts are good enough for me). So, I'm more or less set for the Ilfochrome process excep t for the paper and chemistry. I'll cut this short before I ramble too much, I' m just looking for the opinions of people with experience in this area. Thanx much, Brad

Ron Shaw
10-Sep-1998, 17:04
I shoot chromes in 35mm and 4x5, and while I dont do my own Ilfochromes, I have a friend who does them for me, so I know it is doable. He is able to do up to 16 x20 at his home. He uses a spare bedroom, and I dont think his setup is particul arly special, as far as temp control and the like.

Peter Hughes
10-Sep-1998, 23:44
Go for it. Ilfochrome material has extreme latitude, so be sure to make *large* corrections. Temp control is relatively easy because of the moderate temp requir ed (75 F). It's designed to be foolproof for the beginner yet fine enough for th e advanced worker. Good stuff. Brilliant colors without garish contrast. Highly recommended!

Philip Greenspun
18-Sep-1998, 14:58