PDA

View Full Version : Help with jobo and e-6

John Brady
29-Mar-2008, 04:36
Hi, I have been processing B&W for many many years and am now going to attempt to process my first e-6. I have been searching for information and have found some but I still have questions. I will also be using a newly acquired jobo cpp2 with lift for the first time so this should be exciting. I have played with the jobo, mounting the expert drum initially for 4x5 velvia 50, and I am comfortable with filling chemicals dumping etc.
So here are some questions, I am sure there are more I should ask but obviously I don't even know what I don't know.

1. I have purchased the kodak 5L e-6 kit. Can I mix just what I need as I need it or will the remaining chemicals go bad once opened?
2. If so, is there a formula any of you have for mixing small batches like 500ml?
3. Is 500 ml sufficient for ten sheets of 4x5 in a 3010 drum?
4. I have read there is a chemical similar to photo flo that should not be used in an expert drum because it won't clean out and therefore will damage the drum. Is this chemical in the kit and if so how should it be used?
5. What are the little beakers in the jobo tempering area for? They appear to be to small to use with 4x5 or larger, and there are only 4.
6. There are six larger bottles, but it seams the kit requires 7 steps. How do you handle this.
7. What speed do you set the rotation at for e-6?
8. When I set the rotation to the lowest speed, what looks like it should be off the drum continues to rotate slowly. Is this normal or do I need to fix it, and if so how?
9. I have also heard that early cpp2 motors cannot handle expert drums well. I am not sure how old mine is, but it is in very nice low use condition. Do I need to worry about this?

Sorry so many questions. If you can answer any of them I would greatly appreciate it. I don't have a manual and have searched for books on e-6 process, but have not seen any. Thanks in advance. jb

eric black
29-Mar-2008, 04:45