PDA

View Full Version : I shoot a lot.

Gene McCluney
23-Mar-2008, 23:16
While I am a commercial photographer by trade, one of my hobbies is also photography in large format. For the last couple of years I have been trying to go out every week or so on an all day trip with my best friend (who also shoots, but digital), and shoot vintage bridges. We divide up the state by county and try to cover a county in a long dawn to dusk day, sometimes it takes 2 or 3 trips. Saturday we had a long day, and I shot 60 sheets of 5x7 b/w film 2 each of 30 views. A pretty good day. We have been working on Oklahoma for quite some time now, and this state has an incredible number of very photogenic vintage bridges, some dating back to the first decade of the 20th century. I use Fomapan 200, rated at ISO 100, and develop in HC-110 dilution E in deep tank 3.5 gallon. The winter (after the leaves fall) until late Spring is the best time because most rural bridges get choked with vegetation and it is harder to get good views in the Summer, not to mention the insect and poison ivy issues in warm weather. I have a large pair of pruning shears I use to trim back some vegetation that blocks my views.

Capocheny
24-Mar-2008, 01:03