PDA

View Full Version : Need a lense - where to buy

middlegray
23-Mar-2008, 20:19
Hello all,

I was donated a Calumet Combo SC monorail recently. It came with a large old Kodak Kodak Commercial Ektar (NO 4 Acme Synchro shutter) lens which is not working. Can anyone suggest me a lens that I can replace this with, and where I can buy it from.

I am fairly new to to LF so any help is appreciated.

Thanks
m

Capocheny
23-Mar-2008, 20:37
Hello all,

I was donated a Calumet Combo SC monorail recently. It came with a large old Kodak Kodak Commercial Ektar (NO 4 Acme Synchro shutter) lens which is not working. Can anyone suggest me a lens that I can replace this with, and where I can buy it from.

I am fairly new to to LF so any help is appreciated.

Thanks
m

Hi m,

I'd suggest a 180 or 210 as a good starter lens... lots of choices. Generally ff5.6's.

You have a couple of options for a place to buy from:

1. Ebay

2. Jim at MidWest Photo (www.mpex.com)

3. Jeff at Badger Graphics (www.badgergraphic.com)

Jim and Jeff are both great to deal with!

4. Post a WTB here on the forum... you're sure to find something that will fall into your price range and requirements.

Lastly, do some research on this forum for highly recommended books to read.

Have fun...

Cheers

Capocheny
23-Mar-2008, 21:25
Hi m,

Lo and behold... here's a 210 f5.6 that would work for your new camera.

Contact Gary and work out a fair price and go from there.

http://www.largeformatphotography.info/forum/showthread.php?t=34565

Cheers

PS: m, I have no ties to Garry, the owner of the lens I suggested in the note above.

erie patsellis
23-Mar-2008, 22:05
I'd hold onto that commercial ektar, They're every bit as good as any modern lens. When Carol at Flutot's get's caught up, you'd do very well to invest the $50 or so dollars into getting that shutter working well. Another option is to google Paul Ebel, in Menomonee, WI. He's a straight shooter and doesn't charge a milion dollars.

erie

lenser