PDA

View Full Version : Stock Agency Contracts

paulr
19-Mar-2008, 07:37
I've been approached by a stock agency that specializes in art photographers. After a lot of phone calls they've finally sent me a contract. I have no experience with licensing in general, or stock agencies in particular, and so I'm going to need some expert advice before signing anything.

I already have a few questions about the terms. And I assume there are some questions I should be asking that I haven't considered.

Does anyone know of a source for reasonably priced legal assistance on this kind of thing? I'm pretty sure that the normal fees of a corporate contract lawyer would bleed me dry.

I'm already looking at some big scanning expenses (they've chosen some older work that's never been scanned for anything but the web, and they of course want very high quality scans). And I have no idea if I'll even make a dime from this venture!

Ralph Barker
19-Mar-2008, 08:02
There is at least one stock photographer's association that might provide some help prior to talking to an attorney. Sorry I don't have a name or link, Paul, but a Google search should turn it up.

Ted Harris
19-Mar-2008, 09:21
Like Ralph, I don't have any more direct information but if you call Jazz at Jaincotech in Ohio he can tell you. I know they are participating in a huge stock photo conference/tradeshow in June.

Ben Chase
19-Mar-2008, 09:35
I know that photoattorney (http://www.photoattorney.com) has been recommended by others. I've never worked with them, but this might be a direction you could take.

QT Luong
19-Mar-2008, 09:54
The association Ralph has mentioned is probably the Stock Artists Alliance. I have not joined them personally, but I read that a short consultation with an attorney is included in the price of the membership, and they have a discussion forum as well.