PDA

View Full Version : Best 4x5 film for architecture?

krk_now
17-Mar-2008, 14:22
Hi,

I'm a newbie and have not been shooting film for a couple of years now so...
What's the prefered film to shoot architecture?
Mostly colorwise. To be realistic and publishable.
Are the velvia and provia too greenish/blueish?
Are the kodaks too warm or orange in their tone?

Have a happy day,

Richard.

Walter Calahan
17-Mar-2008, 16:09
Try a color negative film instead, such as Fuji 160 Pro.

steve simmons
17-Mar-2008, 16:42
Who are you doing this for? To what end will the photos be used?

You really can't answer your question w/o knowing the above.

If you want to do this commercially the clients will probably determine the answers for you.

steve simmons

Kirk Gittings
17-Mar-2008, 17:24
I agree with Steve as a starting point. IME, There is no right or wrong film, just films with different characteristics. For residential clients who want chromes, I prefer the saturation and warmth of Velvia. For commercial architecture I prefer more neutrality like Provia or Astia. If I am scanning the film in-house for magazine work, I prefer Fuji 160 Pro color negative film, which I can make mimic pretty much any film I want in the scan.

anchored
17-Mar-2008, 23:54
No disagreement with the previous answers... would also suggest as a newbie to start with Fuji Pro-160, unless if you prefer chromes, then Astia. Pro-160S provides nicely saturated images and better latitude than slide film if shooting in less than ideal lighting conditions. The Astia falls between Provia and Velvia in saturation, and captures subtle pastel tones very well. For architectural night shots consider Kodak 64T (tungsten slides), which provides a bit less of the heavy blue-tones the Fuji tungsten does.

David Karp
18-Mar-2008, 08:10
Yes, if shooting for yourself the negative film is the way to go for me. The Fuji neg films handle a variety of lighting sources best in my experience.

Alan Davenport
18-Mar-2008, 08:25