PDA

View Full Version : how to take apart a Nikkor APO?

Andrew Farkas
14-Mar-2008, 18:08
I've got a 360 Nikkor APO lens that I'm trying to connect with a shutter I bought. First, I should say that the shutter is a Copal 3- I looked around for a while for info, and this was the best recommendation I got.

Now that I've got the shutter, I can't figure out how to get the lens apart (beyond getting the shutter in, there's a bunch of dust inside). Everyone says, "just unscrew it," but I swear it does not unscrew, nor is it meant to.

Any advice?

AJ
ps- I'm a poor grad student, trying to avoid sending the lens out. $$

rob
14-Mar-2008, 20:20
APO nikkor process lenses won't fit a shutter without custom machining.

John Schneider
14-Mar-2008, 21:43
I'm a poor grad student too, and unless you have access to a good lathe and know how to cut threads, it's false economy to keep this lens. I have both the access and skill myself, and it still doesn't make sense to take a chance on butchering a good lens to mount it in a shutter. Unless it's a special lens (and this isn't), it doesn't make fiscal sense to have SK Grimes et al mount it in a shutter.

Sell it and the shutter, and get a used lens from Mpex or KEH

Joerg Krusche
15-Mar-2008, 02:28
Andrew,

try to get hold of a Sinar/Copal shutter .. then front-mount the Apo Nikkors .. there will be no mechanical vignetting due to large diameter of shutter .. with that single shutter you then have access to Apo Nikkors in the range from 24mm through 760 mm .. and that is quite a range .. and it is cost-efficient. That shutter allows you also to have access to the Apo Ronar's, Apo Germinar's etc....The Apo Nikkors are very difficult to take apart .. may be glued .. some few do .. but most not. Above solution is not a low quality one .. it allows to use some of the best lenses ever made .. at controllable budget .. Just my ..

Best

Joerg

Dan Fromm
15-Mar-2008, 05:14