PDA

View Full Version : wet mounting and sharpening with cezanne5500

hbjornson
8-Mar-2008, 18:57
I have now tested wet verses dry scanning with my cezanne elite. The wet mounted tests were only slightly sharper but large flat areas like skies were noticeably more uniform, less streaky, and less grainy than the dry mounted tests. Wet mounting was also quite easy after viewing the Aztek video. A further advantage is that I will spend considerably less time spotting in photoshop afterwards.
As to sharpening. I wonder if anyone can advise me on the use of the elaborate sharpening tools in the colorgenius 2.1 software. Are there some simple sharpening formulas for scanning negs hi rez. I'm afraid it's a little over my head!
Thanks

Peter De Smidt
8-Mar-2008, 21:28
Personally, I would sharpen in Photoshop, although I believe that Ted thinks differently.

hbjornson
10-Mar-2008, 19:31
Peter - I'm no expert but the sharpening controls in color genius look to be more sophisticated and so I'm guessing better. Unfortunately, I can't seem to find much help navigating this tool.
Am I the only one who has noticed benefits in wet mounting on flatbeds?

Howard Bjornson

Peter De Smidt
10-Mar-2008, 20:04
Hi Howard,

Yes, there can be benefits in wet-mounting on a flatbed. It depends a lot on the negatives. Wet-mounting tends to make grain appear smaller and more even, and it minimizes scratches. Remember that viewing a print at 100% on a screen is much bigger than most people would ever print. So the question is are the benefits worth the hassle given how big you'll print? Only you can answer that.