PDA

View Full Version : Help with Lense Selection.

CTSELLAS
5-Mar-2008, 23:15
Hey Everyone!

So I need some help. I am new to the Large Format world and right now am shooting with a TOYO 45ax with a 135mm Nikkor Lense. I shoot a lot indoors and am really interested in purchasing another lense but am kind of lost on which to get. I want to be able to get more information on the sides so I am thinking of a 90mm or a 105. My questions to all of you are:

1) Is there much difference in the two sizes.

2) Does anyone have any examples or know links where I can see images shot with these size lenses? (THAT BE AWESOME)

Now I really would like a lense within a reasonable price. 2 grand is not something I am looking to spend. I am nervous with the 90 that my edges will get distorted which I DO NOT want.

Any advice be greatly appreciated.

THANKS!
CHRIS

Dave Moeller
6-Mar-2008, 01:26
Chris-

If you have experience in 35mm photography, you can use it to help you with lens selection in 4x5. The two formats have different aspect ratios (35mm is longer/narrower than 4x5) so conversion between the two formats isn't an exact science. Many people use a converstion factor of three. That is, a 35mm lens is equivalent to a 4x5 lens that's 3x the focal length. (A 50mm lens on 35mm is equivalent to a 150mm lens on 4x5.) If you know the focal length you'd use in 35mm, multiply by 3 to find the equivalent 4x5 lens.

Canon has a page that shows the effect of differing focal length in 35mm photography: http://www.usa.canon.com/app/html/EFLenses101/focal_length.html

You asked about the difference between your 135mm lens and either a 90mm or 105mm lens. If you think about equivalent lenses on 35mm, you're comparing a 45mm lens to lenses of 30mm and 35mm. Is that significant? It is to me, but only you know if it is to you.