PDA

View Full Version : Help with Polaroid Back

alanps
2-Mar-2008, 18:52
I may be doing something spectacularly stupid but I cannot get my polaroid 5x4 back to expose film. When I pull the envelope up to expose the neg, the whole pack is coming up with it - and hence nothing gets exposed. It took me 5 shots to work this out - and as Polaroid is now in dwindling supplies this sucks.

I am not a novice, but I have the horrid feeling I am having a 'senior' moment and doing something idiotic, I just for the life of me cannot work it out.....

Click to L - slide pod in fully - pull envelope up and take picture, slide envelope down, click to P and pull to process.....

Anyone - free donuts??

Alan

GaryT
2-Mar-2008, 20:01
Sometimes the metal tab at the end of the Polaroid doesn't engage in the clip. This can happen for a few reasons...A few things to check- is there an old tab lodged in the holder? This has happened to me before, where the tab will seperate from the pack and remain in the holder preventing the next film pack from engaging the clip. Also check that the tabs on the film have a slight outward bend to them, this makes them easier to crab the clip in the holder.

With a little bit of practice, you should be able to tell by feel when the paper is being pulled up on the polaroid and when it's not. Another trick is to feel for the chemical pod inside the pack when you pull the paper to expose the film...it should remain near the top of the holder and not *stay* with the whole film pack. Much easier to do than to explain...

Good luck-

Hiro
3-Mar-2008, 16:36