PDA

View Full Version : Recommendations for a 4x5 monorail camera

Chuck Peacock
25-Feb-2008, 11:48
Hello,

While I'm a new member of the list, I’ve been shooting 4x5 for about 30 years using a Crown Graphic and an Ikeda folding field camera. Lately I’ve been getting an itch to try some things that need movements the press/field cameras just can’t handle and I’m considering getting a monorail.

Actually, I already have one – an ancient grey Calumet that a friend gave me as a fixer-upper. After much work, I have finally concluded that it’s only good for parts, and the only part that seems to be in OK shape is the bellows. The reason I mention this is that it sets a firm bottom limit. I’m not interested in anything that needs a lot of work and I want something where the movements are smooth. The best I ever achieved with the Calumet was movements that wouldn’t move at all until you forced them and then they jumped a quarter of an inch (if you were lucky).

While I like to think I’m pretty well versed in the workings of press cameras and lightweight field cameras, I’m the first to admit that I know nothing about what to look for in a monorail camera. So, here are the questions:

What should one look for in a used monorail camera?

What should one avoid in a used monorail camera (other than a basket case Calumet)?

What is it that makes a used Toyo CX sell for $350 while a used Sinar P2 goes for $2500?

Does anyone have any specific recommendations under $500? Under $1,000?

Thanks.

GaryT
25-Feb-2008, 12:35
I've had a number of mono-rail cameras over the last 30 years and two areas that I always appreciated and looked for was locking geared movements (....and as many as I could get!) and rigidity of the entire camera.

The obvious trade off with my priorities is weight, but I've always worked on a large camera stand where weight was of little or no concern.

YMMV.

lenser
25-Feb-2008, 12:50
Hi, Chuck.