PDA

View Full Version : Very New To This

seabee1999
22-Feb-2008, 18:38
Good day, I am very new to this type of photography. I got into photography severl years ago when hurricane passed through the area I was living at that time. Before the storm hit, I purchased an N65 and a few lenses and have been learning ever since. Right now I am attending photography school through the Academy of Art University in San Francisco. Since 2003, when I picked up the N65, I have been learning so much in both the 35mm and digital realm. Now I am looking to challenge myself again and desire to get a LF camera.

I shoot mostly landscapes, general nature, some wildlife, sports and whatever else tickles my fancy. I'd like to get a camera that is 4x5 and has a rail system. I was looking today through this site and some others on what to get to start out with. At KEH, I saw a few Cambos and Calumets at prices that I could afford as well as a Nikkor lens (135 f/5.6). I know you all are the experts so I'd like to ask if this is a good kit to start off with or should I find somethig different?

The following like is what I have shot over the past 2 years:
http://seabee1999.smugmug.com/

God Bless,
David

lenser
22-Feb-2008, 20:50
Welcome, David.

You're not going to go wrong with either camera. I've got a Cambo SCX and also have an older model Calumet WA and each is a fantastic rig. The Nikkor lens should yield great images. You'll find that the lens is in the short normal range.

Wider angles will be in the 90mm and shorter lengths and you won't get into tele lengths until you are well above 210mm. You won't be doing much wildlife or any actions sports with a view camera, but nothing beats it for landscape and architecture and it does quite well for portraits and product work. Have fun.

Tim

Nick_3536
22-Feb-2008, 22:53