PDA

View Full Version : HP Combi Plan - What Volume?

Rafal Lukawiecki
21-Feb-2008, 08:50
I've been using my cute HP Combi Plan T for 5 years on and off and I am happy with it, but I have never resolved the curious matter of the recommended volume of liquid that it requires for 4x5s. The inside of the lid states that it needs 1250ml or 36 fluid ounces. But 36 fl oz is only 1064ml - nearly 200ml less.

Interestingly, the advice on the inside lid of the tank for other formats is fine, that is the metric measures convert reasonably correctly to ounces - except for the 4x5 size.

Now that I live in the country and have a septic tank I collect and dispose of used chemicals at a recycling centre. Thus the problem of volume: I could just about put 1064ml into many used "1l" plastic bottles (milk, drinks etc.) but for 1250ml I need to use bigger bottles, which I just don't generate enough of in my household - and use the ones I do for my paper chemistry (2l normally).

Is the 36 fl oz vs 1250ml advice my tank gives me another example of how US differs from the rest of the world?

Rafal

PS. I've been using about 1280ml because it's easier for me to mix 110HC that way (40ml of concentrate for dilution B) and stays on the "too much" side. I guess I have never been chicken enough to try less in case I got my negs damaged.

Bjorn Nilsson
21-Feb-2008, 09:38
Taking a closer look inside the lid it states that 1250 ccm is needed for "10 x 15 cm". 10X15cm corresponts to about 4x6 inches. You are correct about the 36 ozs. for 4X5 inches. You seem to read the two tables as one, when they in fact are two separate tables. The european size in the left table and the "strange one" in the right table. ;)
It's quite funny how a piece of equipment made in Sweden does have german and english instructions printed (moulded into) on it, but nothing in Swedish.

//Björn

Rafal Lukawiecki
21-Feb-2008, 09:46