PDA

View Full Version : lens mounting question (warning: noob)

h2oman
7-Feb-2008, 12:48
I'm new to LF, and am thinking of buying a used lens from a private individual. I have no local resources (that I know of) and will need to mount the lens in a lensboard myself. Is this a big deal? It seems like it should be a simple nuts-and-bolts thing, but tell me if it isn't!:D

If I do it, my procedure will likely be to have Jim Andracki at Midwest sell me a used lens board and the spanner wrench or whatever it is that is used for toolage.

Thanks.

Nick_3536
7-Feb-2008, 13:02
If Jim sells you a board with the right size hole and the wrench it's pretty easy.

Take the lens apart. Stick the front of the lens on the board. Put the retaining ring on the back. Use the wrench now. Put the back of the lens on.

Thats about it.

Ralph Barker
7-Feb-2008, 13:02
Generally, it's no big deal - particularly if you are buying the board and spanner wrench from Jim. Just be sure the used lens includes the retaining ring. ("Oh, you wanted the ring, too? That's $200 extra." ;) )

On unusual lens boards, spacing can sometimes be an issue, but that can be verified against the manufacturer's specs (i.e. measure the total front-to-back dimension of the mounted lens and compare that to the specs). Some lenses also include a spacing shim, so you don't want to lose that, or place it on the wrong side of the assembly.

Vaughn
7-Feb-2008, 13:07
That should do it -- just make sure the lens you buy has a retaining ring (that holds the lens/shutter onto the lensboard from the back). The spanner wrench is not 100% (more like 92%) necessary, but it makes life a lot easier.

Vaughn

Looks like I am pretty slow on the draw, too!

Eric James
7-Feb-2008, 13:36