PDA

View Full Version : best 4x5 monorail?

james norman
19-Feb-2001, 23:07
mostly for field use for architecture. i have been using a cambo (calumet) 45NX for over 15 years with nary a glitch, and am not unsatisfied, but i am at a pla ce where i can afford whatever camera i might want. i have browsed around some at the sinars, but they generally look a bit overblown and "fancy" for my fairly rigorous field needs. what would you say are the best monorail 4x5s these days for field architectural use in sometimes rugged conditions? thanks.

M.
19-Feb-2001, 23:59
Cambo 45NX.

adam friedberg
20-Feb-2001, 00:55
i'm going to try my fortune telling abilities and say the consensus will be ... arca swiss f line. the consensus is probably right. if i'm right do i win anything?

i use a technikardan and will recommend it.

Andre Noble
20-Feb-2001, 08:24
Dear jnorman: As a person with alot less 4x5 shooting years than you, I am going to throw out the Japanese name "TOYO" because otherwise from experience, I know no one else in this thread will. The top of the line 45GX and 45GII are rugged, yet precisely machined, and from what I can see, not surpassed for your needs (rugged architectural use) by any other "more exotic" camera. (That's my observation as a relative newcomer who's also handled Sinars and Cambos.) Andre

Jeffrey Goggin
20-Feb-2001, 09:33
While I own and enjoy using a Toyo 23G -- the smaller 2x3/6x9 version of the 45G -- I doubt that anyone who can afford any camera they want will be happying carrying around one weighing 12.1 lbs (45GX) or 14.1 lbs (45GII) when there are other, equally nice and much, much lighter monorail designs available.

Personally, my vote would be for an Arca-Swiss F-line. They offer as much flexibility (in every sense of the word) as you will likely need while folding up fairly compactly and not weighing very much compared to similar designs. IMO, they look neat, too. :^)

Kevin Kemner
20-Feb-2001, 12:00