PDA

View Full Version : Used Fuji 180/5.6 or new Nikon 210/5.6

Nathaniel Paust
20-Feb-2001, 21:12
I'm fairly new to large format, but recently got a Canham DLC 4x5. To save mone y, I got a used Zeiss Jena 135/4.5 lens which I now consider a complete waste of money.

I've been planning on getting a Nikon 210/5.6 W but recently found a Fuji 180/5. 6 for $450. The Fuji lens looks to be in good condition and is multicoated.

I have three questions: 1) Which focal length to people use more 210 or 180... is the difference reall y noticable? Can the 180 be used for head and shoulders portraiture without sig nificant distortion? 2) Are there any specific problems with the Fuji large format lenses that I sho uld look out for? 3) Is $450 a fair price for this lens?

Thanks

Charlie Stracl
20-Feb-2001, 22:21
1. 210 is likely the more popular length, but with LF nothing is cast in stone. The difference is minimal: 180 mm is 112% of "normal"; 210 mm is 131%. 180 mm give you a nice big image circle which allows plenty of movement. Either could be considered normal or slightly long on 4x5.

Distortion is likely a misnomer: "normal perspective" is probably what you are concerned with, but this is only controlled by location of the lens with respect to the subject. 180 will work fine. You might plan to crop, since people move a little, and you can't look through the camera while you're taking the picture. (The exaggerated perspective where somebody's nose looks huge and his face small is because the lens is so close to the nose. Put you're eyeball close enough to somebody's face and it looks the same.)

2. Known problems: only with their LF Telephoto lenses, but I don't have one and can't comment. The lens you are talking about is not a Telephoto design.