PDA

View Full Version : lens trade-offs question

h2oman
29-Jan-2008, 18:02
I'm relatively new to LF, have just one lens, a 150mm. At some point, probably still a ways off, I will likely get a 90mm. So I'm beginning to think about/research that a bit now. Of course I'm looking for something super sharp, very light, huge image circle and very bright image on the ground glass...and inexpensive as well.;)

But seriously, the thing I am most interested is finding a lens that is fairly easy to use in terms of viewing on the gg, and that gives good images. As I understand it, the advantage of a larger image circle is that more movements are permitted without vignetting. Does the size of the image circle affect the brightness of the image on the ground glass, in general?

I don't know jack about lens design, but part of me feels like a lens with a smaller image circle spreads the light out less, so it is brighter at all points. On the other hand, I feel like there might be some fall-off in brightness near the edges of the image circle, so a lens with a larger image circle will have only its brightest part on the ground glass as long as movements are not too extreme. Well, enough speculating on my part - if you have some knowledge on this, let me know what you think.

I suspect that there are differences between lenses having the same size image circle, due to number of elements, quality of optics, etc.

Any thoughts on particular 90mm lenses would be appreciated as well...

Jim Galli
29-Jan-2008, 18:13
Cake and eat it too as the brightest ones will also have the biggest image circle. You'll take a beating on cost and weight though.