PDA

View Full Version : Polaroid 55 question

jmuldoon1
26-Jan-2008, 23:39
Believe it or not, I've never used Polaroid Type 55 before.
Can anyone tell me how good the negatives are?
In other words, except for the ISO difference, is there a reason why I would want to use a traditional B&W film in addition to this?
Thanks.

Matt Blaze
27-Jan-2008, 00:25
Believe it or not, I've never used Polaroid Type 55 before.
Can anyone tell me how good the negatives are?
In other words, except for the ISO difference, is there a reason why I would want to use a traditional B&W film in addition to this?
Thanks.

Well, type 55 is quite highly regarded and has a loyal following. Fine grain, beautiful tonality (to my eye), no darkroom required, and you get a free off-by-one-stop proof print with the negative. It's my main film (when I shoot film) these days.

Disadvantages? Well, it doesn't push or pull as well as most conventional films, I believe you can't exercise much control over contrast with processing time (though I could be wrong about that), you either like the look or you don't, it's bulky and fragile to transport and store, it's not actually instant like most polaroid film (you have to clear it and wash it, although you can do this in daylight), the emulsion is easily scratched or damaged, it's slow, it's not exactly the same size as regular 4x5 film, it's only available in a 4x5 form factor, it's hard to get in some places, it seems inevitable that it will be discontinued sooner or later (maybe sooner), and it's very expensive. But if you can live with those things (and many can), it's terrific stuff.

bsimison
27-Jan-2008, 06:33