PDA

View Full Version : Nikkor M 300 f9 with chipped rear element

Northwest
23-Jan-2008, 06:23
I have a friend who has a Nikkor M 300mm f9 lens with a chip in the rear element. He had it professionally "doctored" and says that it still performs well. I've never damaged a lens and when I saw his, I winced. Glass, I thought, should be perfect.

Since I've never photographed with a lens with such a defect, I have no personal knowledge of the before and after performance, but I've always heard and read that lenses in that condition can still do a fine job. I believe that, but I'm not going to chip a lens to find out. (Obviously, the seriousness of the defect could make a difference.) I've seen photographs taken with the lens and there was nothing noticeably wrong with them.

My question concerns price. He needs to sell his photo equipment. I told him that the 300Ms are very popular, but I had no idea what effect the chip would have on its value.

Does anyone have any idea what he could get for the lens assuming it is in otherwise good condition? Naturally, it would have to come with a full money back guarantee, because no one should buy such a lens without testing it first. I certainly wouldn't.
But, even if it performed well, I'd think the chip would have to knock the price down significantly.

Has anyone ever bought a lens (any lens) with damage to the rear element? If so, how much less did you pay for the lens because of the flaw?

If anyone can offer information/advice, I'd appreciate it. He lives in Ohio, and he doesn't have Internet service, so I'm asking this question for him.

eric black
23-Jan-2008, 06:50