PDA

View Full Version : How many keepers in a year?

Shen45
22-Jan-2008, 19:05
By keepers I mean -- how many images so grab you that you actually frame or present them in some formal [ish] way for others to see. Computer does not count.

I would have to say my output is very low at probably no more than 6 per year. Any comments on why you achieve the number you do or don't may be interesting to consider for others. Maybe even post an example of a real keeper and explain why you chose it as such.

Toyon
22-Jan-2008, 19:09
six is pretty good. I think Ansel Adams said that he expected about 2 per year.

Lucas M
22-Jan-2008, 19:25
5-20 for me. Of course I am not very experienced yet and thus my standards aren't super high. I've only done this for just over a year now and I think I have around six too that I personally really like. Add other people to the mix and I am over 20 with all these opinions. But about framing them... I've only gotten two framed because of cost.

eric black
22-Jan-2008, 19:48
my guess is about 5 per year of which 2-3 might be images I continue to promote for several years into the future. These are typically obtained from about 150-200 actual captures. More often than not on the 2-3 keepers, I vist the same location and shoot several takes of the shot until I am happy.

Shen45
22-Jan-2008, 19:49
six is pretty good. I think Ansel Adams said that he expected about 2 per year.

I thought AA said 12 but that may have been a particular project.

After posting the original question I averaged over a longer period my "keepers" and would be more honest to say maximum 2 per year :)

I'm in my darkroom now and I'm intending to revisit some older negs to see what I have missed. Probably nothing!

Kirk Gittings
22-Jan-2008, 20:07
Most great photographers are really known for about 20 memorable images from a whole career. So 2 or 3 is very good production.

Toyon
22-Jan-2008, 20:14
I thought AA said 12 but that may have been a particular project.