PDA

View Full Version : Help with a fresnel?

jwarren116
17-Jan-2008, 19:39
So, I'm still relatively new to large format. I've had my B&J 5x7 for a while, and I've been using it with a 4x5 back. I got the camera used. I just ordered a Shen-Hao to replace it (it was too heavy and bulky). I was recently introduced to the GG enhancements, like fresnels. Now, more to the point... on my B&J, there was a plastic GG cover. I just thought it was a protector, but after researching fresnels noticed it was no ordinary protector. It has consecutive circular grooves on one side. For all the research I can do it seems to be a fresnel, and not one of the other GG enhancers. Is there any way to find out what focal length it is optimized for? I know on my B&J it made my 90mm almost impossible to see anything unless I had my loupe in the exact middle of the GG. And if fresnels are "optimized" at a certain focal length, how come the only Shen-Hao fresnels I can find don't specify a length?

I read the page about the fresnels, but for the life of me I'm still utterly confused. Can anyone recommend a "fresnels and other GG stuff for dummies" page?

Tracy Storer
17-Jan-2008, 19:49
This will get you started:

http://www.wisner.com/viewing.htm

Generally, wider focal length lenses will require a shorter focal length fresnel, almost any fresnel will be better than none with a wide lens, unless it's installed backwards, then the "hot-spot" problem will be worse. Most fresnels should be installed with the grooves against the plain side of the ground glass, and the ground side of the ground glass towards the shooting lens.

Alan Davenport
18-Jan-2008, 00:51
The idea that the focal length of a fresnel lens needs to be matched to the focal length of the camera lens, is a fallacy. The ideal viewing distance will vary slightly but it's not going to be a problem.