PDA

View Full Version : New to large format

Joan Girdler
10-Jan-2008, 12:13
Just purchased an 8x10 gorgeous Dorff and am taking tiny steps up to finally getting to use the camera. Still need a film holder and instructions on how to load and shoot, but just finished cobbling together a surveyor's tripod, bought a three way pan tilt head from B&H where I received excellent help and a wonderful Shadow Box film
changing tent. Can hardly wait to try out the camera, but need to figure out, among many things, how to develope the film as I gave up my darkroom. I am a serious amateur and am chided constantly about being an older woman with a big camera.:D :D

Vaughn
10-Jan-2008, 12:58
If you can carry the weight, others are at risk kidding you about it! A slight tap on their head with your pod should stop the kidding! There are some good books out there that others will probably refer you to--I don't have them, so can't remember the titles.

Welcome to the club! What sort of lens will you be using with that 'Dorff? And what type of images will you be making with it?

Vaughn

Joan Girdler
10-Jan-2008, 13:45
The only lens is a pristine Goerz Dagor F6.8 focus 12 inches. Old and uncoated. I love
portraiture of botanicals and sometimes people. Lens came from the same man from whom I bought the camera. Plan on doing contact printing -platinum/palladium.

Scott Knowles
10-Jan-2008, 13:46
Wow, talk about both feet into something. Ok, not that much difference between 4x5 and 8x10 except size, and costs (film and processing), but sure makes an expensive learning curve. I wish you luck and enjoy it. After my first year in 4x5, it's really cool and fun, and I get some good images too, as long as I keep my brain plugged in.

Vaughn
10-Jan-2008, 15:12
Great! Nice lens. I do pt/pd printing as well as carbon with my 8x10. Nice size to work with for contact printing. have fun!

vaughn

Ralph Barker
10-Jan-2008, 16:53
Welcome to the LF Forum, Joan, and to the wonderful world of 8x10.