PDA

View Full Version : Wisner Mfg. Co. Status???

Nick Kanellos
8-Jan-2008, 14:38
I just got off the phone with the guy at Harry's Pro Shop. He's the representative for Wisner in Canada. I called to order some blank lens boards and to get a price on a replacement bellows. He told me that as far as he knows Wisner is out of business.

So I then called Lens & Repro in NY. Same thing. Doesn't know for sure but hasn't heard a peep out of anyone from Wisner Mfg. Co. for a "long time".

I tried calling Wisner Mfg. directly but I can't find a phone number on their web site (which is still up).

So does anyone know? Are they kaput?

David Karp
8-Jan-2008, 14:42
Don't know about Wisner, but S.K. Grimes carries Wisner boards: http://www.skgrimes.com/lensboards/index.htm (Found this while looking for something else.)

RichardRitter
8-Jan-2008, 14:47
I have been doing Wisner repair for the past 10 years and have lens boards in stock.

Richard Ritter
www.lg4mat.net

David Karp
8-Jan-2008, 15:09
Ah yes. I should have thought of Richard too. Sorry.

Jeffrey Sipress
8-Jan-2008, 15:58
No great loss.

Captain_joe6
8-Jan-2008, 17:21
I remember the first time I ever saw the Wisner website, I was so young in the LF game! Everything looked amazing, and man, I had a jonesing for an 8x10 Pocket Expedition. And then I started reading about Wisner...

Now I want an 8x10 Lotus.

Asher Kelman
8-Jan-2008, 17:45
No great loss.

A great loss in potential. The camera line were very ambitious and valued by a lot of people. He needed a proper organization it seems.

It's one thing to be able to make things it's another to be able to deliver and service. I'm disappointed that everything was just shut down!

For people that already have the cameras, it's a great thing that we still have options for service and repairs. However, with the Lotus, Chamonix, Ritter and all the other handmade cameras, there's more than enough choices.