PDA

View Full Version : riateresa

riateresa
7-Jan-2008, 12:37
Hi I am new to large format photography I have used medium format for many years and am lucky enough to have my own darkroom. I recently couldn't resist a sinar P monorail camera at an auction and would like to try in out but I am not sure it is complete, so if I tell you what I have maybe someone can tell me what else I need. It has bellows, rear glass veiwing screen with grid, a lens board that has a shutter attached with aperture settings and a cable release, shutter works fine but the problem is behind the lens board is a lens with no markings that screws in does this mean that I have half a lens do I need to buy a front half or a new whole one or is this how it is, I get a an image that I can focus on the screen so can I just insert a darkslide and use what I have got , sorry if this seems basic .

Ralph Barker
7-Jan-2008, 12:58
You could have the back half of a "convertible" lens, or an older "barrel" lens that did not originally have a shutter. I'd suggest taking a clear digital snap of the lens to post here, so the lens experts might be able to tell what it it.

Bjorn Nilsson
7-Jan-2008, 13:04
If you post some pictures of what you got, we can help you better. (B.t.w. this post could fit better in "Cameras and accessories..." or whatever it's called. Try a better title too. You'll get the hang of this forum eventually.)

If the camera itself is in good order, you've got yourself a precision tool in the same ranks as e.g. Hasselblads or Leicas. It's somewhat less portable though...
From your description it sounds like you got yourself half a lens. You are very unlikely to find a front element. Instead try to find another lens. (Which we can help you with too, when we know a little bit more.)

Oh yeah, Welcome to the forum!

//Björn

Vaughn
7-Jan-2008, 13:24