PDA

View Full Version : Do you buy out of date film?

coops
7-Jan-2008, 08:33
I am new to lf and not a professional. Funds are limited and so I am considering buying out of date film from Ebay. I see 50 sheets of Velvia for $35, film that expired in the midde of 2007. Seems that it should be okay even if kept at room temp.
lThe guy has 20 boxes available.
Anyway, I was wondering if anybody here regularly buys out of date film.

Gene McCluney
7-Jan-2008, 08:44
While I have not "bought" any out-of-date film recently, I certainly "use" out-of-date film frequently. I have a large back-stock of film that was fresh when I bought it, but is now out-of-date. I have no issues with it.

vinny
7-Jan-2008, 08:55
I am new to lf and not a professional. Funds are limited and so I am considering buying out of date film from Ebay. I see 50 sheets of Velvia for $35, film that expired in the midde of 2007. Seems that it should be okay even if kept at room temp.

That company had over 30 boxes when they started selling it. It won't go for much less than the buy it now price either, especially now that you mentioned it here. I bought one box from them a few months ago. I use expired velvia from as early as 2001 and no problems here as long as it stays cold.

Brian Ellis
7-Jan-2008, 09:23
I refrigerate film. Sometimes it's become a year or so out of date and I've used it with no problems. I don't buy out of date film. When I consider the financial cost of photography, especially the various trips I take, the cost of film is insignificant. I'd rather buy in-date film than take any chance on losing photographs because the film was out of date. I recognize that the chances are probably minimal but when I know nothing at all about who's selling the film and how it's been stored (strange but true - every single person who sells out-of-date film has kept it refrigerated and sealed) I just don't want to take the chance.

Aender Brepsom
7-Jan-2008, 09:24