PDA

View Full Version : The best film developer...

Eric Woodbury
6-Jan-2008, 21:06
...What is it? I know this is an impossible question, but I know it is one that we all must ask ourselves and I'm wondering how others have answered it.

I've been using PMK for about 25 years. I use it for roll and sheet film. All my film is HP5+. It works very well for me in roll and sheet, but sheet is a bit of a hassle as I use a JOBO drum on my own base. For this, I purge with nitrogen gas. And still, occasionally I screw up. I noticed some negs tonight that the stain is uneven. I don't know why. It is not streaks or swirls, it is big areas where there is a dark stain. I assume it is from a bad wetting of the neg before going into the tank.

So I'm looking for something bullet proof. One shot, keeps forever, works well with HP5+, can do contraction and expansion, roll and sheet film. I like Silvergrain's DS series, but I don't think the DS-10 is one shot and don't know much about it. I like that it is 'green' and I like his paper developer DS14. I like 510 pyro, too, but there is not much known about this and I find that the C and the TEA do react when mixed and sit in the bottle for months, even though others don't seem to notice (must be me).

So, what are you using? Thanks.

davidb
6-Jan-2008, 21:36
For HP5+, I use either xtol 1+2 or ID-11 1+1.

Xtol for the speed and for pushing (400 - 800)

ID-11 at 250.

Bule
7-Jan-2008, 06:08