PDA

View Full Version : hello all - im new

steve barry
5-Jan-2008, 15:12
hello everyone. excellent site here. i am new to LF. i shoot mostly 35 and 6x6 film. i had a sinarF2 4x5 w/ nikkor 90/4.5 about a year ago that was stolen. it was my first LF system and i was able to use it a few times, and i did like the combo. i just bought a 5x7 norma http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=230207317968&ssPageName=STRK:MEWN:IT&ih=013

i have a few questions. to get that camera back shooting 5x7 i will need only to find a 5x7 ground glass carrier? and will a sinar P 5x7 ground glass carrier fit?

second is on lens selection. i was thinking of starting with a 90/150/210 combo? i shoot mostly urban settings and alot of architecture. i was wondering how probable it was to be able to use these lenses for both 4x5 and 5x7 format? i am aware that i will have much less room for movements in 5x7 than i will in 4x5. i have a 4x5 enlarger, and a bunch of 4x5 film holders - so for the time being i will stick with 4x5. i guess im asking, will i find myself wanting a different lens set for 5x7 if i like the 90-150-210 combo for 4x5?

thanks in advance.

Wayne Crider
5-Jan-2008, 16:30
Welcome Steve; I'm just down the road from you in west Lauderhill off the Sawgrass at Commercial Blvd..

As concerns lenses, the 90-150-210 combo is very common. For architecture the 90 is very useful, and wider is good if you do interiors. For 5x7 lenses you should be able to find something to cover both formats in each length. I owned the 90mm F8 Nikon at one time, a very good lens, but it was a little dark for me being a late/night shooter; For daytime use it's fine. I'll leave it to the rest of the guys to offer up suggestions to cover both formats. Otherwise it's nice to have another S. Florida guy around. Regards, Wayne.

Ron Marshall
5-Jan-2008, 19:55
Welcome Steve.