PDA

View Full Version : How Much to Purchase Sinar P (or P1) 4x5

Josh Urban
4-Jan-2008, 13:43
How much should a used Sinar P (or P1) in at least Condition 8+ cost.

I am new to large format photography and would appreciate any feedback and/or advice about P series.

Much thanks,
Josh

Ken Lee
4-Jan-2008, 13:52
As Pat Kearns stated succinctly in a recent thread entitled How much for a........ (http://www.largeformatphotography.info/forum/showthread.php?t=32005),

"Search the completed sales on ebay to get an estimate of market value and go from there."

Meanwhile, I think you'll love the Sinar P. It's the Summum Bonum of view cameras.

Mark Woods
4-Jan-2008, 14:09
I spent $3700 for a complete Sinar P that had everything that Sinar makes to make it complete (except for the partial reflective mirror). The spring and digital shutter. 5 lenses on DB mounts, 3 shutters, 3 extra lens boards, 2 4x5 bellows, 4x5 & 810 Wide Bellows/Standards, 8x10 Bellows, and a lot more. The photographer sent two very large boxes to me with a note that he was cleaning out his closet and tossed in some extra "stuff" since I hadn't quibbeled about an extra amount for shipping. I've since added 5x7 to the system and a lot more lenses. The basic camera is what I use the most. I've seen these lenses sell on ebay for about $2500 mounted on a lens board. So I'm a happy guy. There was a nice 5x7 system with a A&J case that didn't meet the reserve. I have a hunch the reserve is about $2200-2700. The case alone is worth around $350 (I've had many of these cases made). As others have stated, it's a great camera.

Dennis Felty
4-Jan-2008, 17:47