PDA

View Full Version : New Here

mikez
29-Dec-2007, 23:33
Hey guys/gals just wanted to say hi. My name is Mike and I'm a 20 year old photography student that was introduced to the world of LF recently. I never thought I'd end up loving photography this much. Hell I didn't even think I'd ever like Photography. I thought I was just taking it to fill an "art studio course requirement", but now I work as the head lab assistant. Crazy the way things work out.

Even before I started shooting 4x5 I spent hours upon hours in the darkroom (much to the dismay of the lady friend :O ), but now... I really can't describe it. My experiences so far shooting in LF have been, well just very relaxing to me. It's just amazing to be able to photograph things "The way I see them" I think you guys know what I mean. It just came very naturally to me, I taught myself how to load the film, use the camera, and develop from a co-worker and Jim Stone's "A User's Guide to the View Camera", but I will be the first one to admit there are still a ton of things I don't know.

The first camera I used was a Toyo45 (not sure if there is a more specific name/model?) in a studio w/ electronic flash, but now I have my own Woodman45 field camera. It doesn't have as many movements, but I have really enjoyed using it so far with a Nikkor-W 150/5.6 and a Rodenstock 90/6.8. Right now I've only shot TXP320, but for Christmas I got a box of TMAX100 and I'm really looking forward to shooting it.

I've snooped around here and on other forums before, but I think this is an extremely knowledgeable and friendly community so I joined. Well I look forward to asking a lot of questions and hopefully learning a lot here.

Cheers,

Mike

domenico Foschi
30-Dec-2007, 00:08
Mike,
it's great to hear the enthusiasm of a "young fellow", it really reminds me of me as a 20 year old when I stole my brother camera.
This is a great place for info and camaraderie.
Have fun and ask, ask, ask!

Ralph Barker
30-Dec-2007, 07:47